Chunk ‘n Chew

chocolate-bar-clipart-black-and-white-chocolate-bar-sketch-clipart-PVp5is-clipart_edited

Chunk and Chew is the instructional strategy whereby complex topics are broken down into teacher lead lecture morsels of no more than 10 minutes in length.  This is  immediately followed by 2 minutes of “chewing” in which students reflect and process what they have just heard.

Classmate Jacquie Dale put together this excellent video introduction to the instructional strategy Chunk and Chew.

 

One con of this technique be teacher centered in the chunking  but I think this is balanced by the respectfulness shown in allowing for the “chew”.  While the maximum  ten minutes is recommended I wonder whether more time should be spent on chewing rather than chunking. Presuming that you’ve provided bite size pieces.  Jacquie suggests that to minutes might be insufficient to chew some material.  I also think 10 minutes might be too long for chunking.  Especially with our declining attention spans (now on par with goldfish)

our-average-attention-span

I like the technique in that it provides an opportunity for some classroom assessment in actively listening and confirming what students have heard.  In the end having a technique that reminds us the importance of our listening is a good thing.

“I remind myself every morning: Nothing I say this day will teach me anything. So if I’m going to learn, I must do it by listening.”

— Larry King

Leave a Reply

