“As you know….”

I came across this recent article in my news feed and thought it a good share.  Especially in light of previous posts on Generations of E-learners.

Bath University under fire for barring these three words from lectures and tutorials

The article details how there is a move afoot to ban the instructors from using the phrase “as you know” in their lectures for fear it may make “snowflake” students feel inadequate.

It reminded me of my own experience.  When volunteering in a class I used the term “you guys” to address the group.  I was surprised that the teacher in class was offended that I wasn’t inclusive enough;  missing the reference to “gals” as well.   I welcomed her perspective but honestly for me “guys” meant everyone.  Reflecting, I could have chosen my words better. 

We all have idioms and colloquial expressions we use.  To try and filter them out of our vernacular by legislation just seems somewhat wrong to me.

A defense in the article suggests:

“my job is not to make you feel comfortable. Education is not about being comfortable. In fact, I’m interested in making you uncomfortable. “

If learning equates to change and change equals discomfort, then I agree. However, discomfort should not be at the expense of the individual.  If you can do something to mitigate your offense,  why not choose your words more carefully.

Leave a comment